Public consultation, on Draft Flood Maps which show the extent of flood risk in certain locations, is under way. For further information, please click here More »


The OPW is currently holding a non statutory public consultation on flood risk management Objectives for the CFRAM programme. If you would like to give your comments on these please click the More »

Areas of Further Assessment list available now.

The final list of Areas for Further Assessment arising from the PFRA is now available to download – click here.  More »

Progress Update – Surveying

In order to deliver the CFRAM Studies, survey work will be undertaken to provide cross- and long-section information (x, y, z spatial coordinates) on river channels and banks, on-line channel structures (bridges, More »

North West – Neagh Bann CFRAM Study Commissioned

The North West – Neagh Bann CFRAM Study has been commissioned. The contract was awarded to consultancy firm RPS. More »

CFRAM Programme

CFRAM is Catchment Flood Risk Assessment and Management. The national CFRAM programme commenced in Ireland in 2011.

The CFRAM Programme is central to the medium to long-term strategy for the reduction and management of flood risk in Ireland.

The Programme delivers on core components of the National Flood Policy, adopted in 2004, and on the requirements of the EU ‘Floods’ Directive. The Irish CFRAM programme is being carried out in parallel with similar programmes across the European Union.

The OPW is the lead agency for flood risk management in Ireland and is the national competent authority for the EU Floods Directive. OPW works in close partnership with all Local Authorities in delivering the objectives of the CFRAM Programme.

Implementation of the requirements EU Floods Directive is being coordinated with the requirements of the EU Water Framework Directive and the current River Basin Management Plans. The Programme is also being undertaken with close cross-border coordination,

The CFRAM Programme comprises three phases:

  • The Preliminary Flood Risk Assessment (PFRA): 2011
  • The CFRAM Studies and parallel activities: 2011-2015
  • Implementation and Review: 2016 onwards

The Programme provides for three main consultative stages:

  • 2011 Preliminary Flood Risk Assessments
  • 2013 Flood Hazard Mapping
  • 2015 Flood Risk Management Plans


Powered by WordPress